Events

SCHEDULE OF SERVICES FOR GREAT LENT - 2020

 

Our Lent begins on Sunday evening, March 1, with the Vespers of Mutual Forgiveness. Forgiveness, our forgiveness of others and our recognition that it is we who are the ones most in need of forgiveness, is the "Door to Repentance" - the Door that God will open to us if we are willing to "unlock" it.

 

FORGIVENESS SUNDAY

Mar. 1 - Vespers at 6:00 P.M.

FIRST WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Mon. Mar. 2 - Great Compline with the Canon of St. Andrew of Crete - 5:30 P.M.

Tues. Mar. 3 - The Canon continues - 5:30 P.M.

Wed. Mar. 4 - The Canon continues - 5:30 P.M.

Thurs. Mar. 5 - The Canon continues - 5:30 P.M.

Fri. Mar. 6 - Presanctified Liturgy of St. Gregory the Diologist. - 5:30 P.M.

FIRST SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. Mar. 7 - Vigil - Sunday of Orthodoxy - 5:30 P.M.

Sun. Mar. 8 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9:00 A.M.)

Sunday evening Vespers at St. Sophia's - 6:00 P.M. - followed by hospitality.

 

 SECOND WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Wed. Mar. 11 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 P.M.

Fri. Mar. 13 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 P.M.

 

SECOND SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. Mar. 14 - Vigil  - Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas - 5:30 P.M.

Sun. Mar. 15 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 A.M. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9:00 A.M.)

Sunday evening Vespers at St. Elias - 6:00 P.M. - followed by hospitality.

 

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak Holy Transfiguration Orthodox Church is closed until further notice.

 

HOLY (PASSION) WEEK

Mon. April 13 - Bridegroom Matins - 5:30 P.M.

Tues. April 14 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 P.M.

Wed. April 15- Sacrament of Holy Unction - 5:30 P.M.

Thurs. April 16 - Vesperal Divine Liturgy, Last Supper -3:00 P.M.

Service of the Twelve Gospels, Matins for Great Friday - 5:30 P.M.

Fri. April 17 - Royal Hours - 9:30 A.M.

Vespers  with veneration of the Epitaphion - 3:00 P.M.

Matins for Great Saturday and Funeral Procession- 5:30 P.M.

Sat. April 18 - Vesperal Liturgy - 9:30 A.M.

Midnight Office - 11:30 P.M.

 

PASCHA - CHRIST IS RISEN!

Sunday April 19 - Paschal Matins and Divine Liturgy - 12:00 Midnight

Paschal Vespers followed by celebratory Feast - 4:00 P.M.           

New 2020 Journey to Pascha chart available here.

2020-02-07_-_lent_chart.jpg

Regular Services:

Sunday:

  Matins at 8:30 AM

  Divine Liturgy at 9:30 AM

783 Franklin Park Drive
East Syracuse, NY 13057
315-434-9540