Events

SCHEDULE OF SERVICES FOR GREAT LENT - 2019

 

Our Lent begins on Sunday evening, March 10, with the Vespers of Mutual Forgiveness. Forgiveness, our forgiveness of others and our recognition that it is we who are the ones most in need of forgiveness, is the "Door to Repentance" - the Door that God will open to us if we are willing to "unlock" it.

 

FORGIVENESS SUNDAY

Mar. 10 - Vespers at 6 PM.

FIRST WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Mon. Mar. 11 - Great Compline with the Canon of St. Andrew of Crete - 5:30 PM.

Tues. Mar. 12 - The Canon continues - 5:30 PM.

Wed. Mar. 13 - The Canon continues - 5:30 PM.

Thurs. Mar. 14 - The Canon continues - 5:30 PM.

Fri. Mar.15 - Presanctified Liturgy of St. Gregory the Diologist. - 5:30 PM.

FIRST SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. Mar.16 - Vigil - Sunday of Orthodoxy - 5:30 PM.

Sun. Mar 17. - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9 AM.)

Sunday evening Vespers at St. Sophia's - 6 PM. - followed by hospitality.

 

 SECOND WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Wed. Mar. 20 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

Fri. Mar. 22 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

 

SECOND SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. Mar 23 - Vigil  - Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas - 5:30 PM.

Sun. Mar24 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9 AM.)

Sunday evening Vespers at St. Luke's - 6 PM. - followed by hospitality.

 

THIRD WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Wed. Mar 27 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

Fri. Mar. 29 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

 

THIRD SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. Mar, 30 - Vigil for the Holy Cross - 5:30 PM.

Sun. Mar. 31 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9:00 AM.).

Sunday evening Vespers at Sts. Peter and Paul's -6 PM. - followed by hospitality.

 

FOURTH WEEK OF GREAT LENT

There will be no special Lenten Services during the week. Our Clergy will be attending the Lenten Clergy Retreat in Chicago. The faithful are encouraged to attend Lenten Services at our Sister Churches this week. Check their schedules fo details.

 

FOURTH SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT - ALSO ANNUNCIATION.

Sun. April 7 - Matins for the Annunciation - 8 AM. Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM.

Sunday evening Vespers at Holy Transfiguration - 6 PM. - followed by hospitality.

Please note; Volunteers for set -up, food service, parking assistance and clean-up will be needed.

  

FIFTH WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Wed. April 10 - Great Canon of St. Andrew of Crete - 5:30 PM.

Fri. April 12 - Presanctified Liturgy followed by Akathist Hymn to Theotokos. - 5:30 PM. 

 

FIFTH SUNDAY OF GREAT LENT

Sat. April 13 - Vigil for St. Mary of Egypt 5:30 PM.

Sun. April 14 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM.(1st  and 3rd Hour begins at 9 am.)

Sunday evening Vespers at St. Nicholas (Auburn) - 5:30 PM.

 

SIXTH WEEK OF GREAT LENT

Wed. April 17 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

Fri. April 19 -Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

 

The services of Friday, April 19 are,  technically, the last services of Orthodox Great Lent - 40 days from Monday, March 11. The services of Lazarus Saturday, Palm Sunday and Holy Week constitute the conclusion of the Triodion, which began before Great Lent with the Sundays of the Publican & Pharisee, The Prodigal Son, The Last Judgement and the Fall of Adam & Eve. 

 

PALM SUNDAY

Saturday April 20 - Vigil with Blessing of Palms - 5:30 Pm.

Sunday April 21 - Divine Liturgy - 9:30 AM. (1st and 3rd Hour begins at 9 AM.)

 

HOLY (PASSION) WEEK

Mon. April 22 - Bridegroom Matins - 5:30 PM.

Tues. April 23 - Presanctified Liturgy - 5:30 PM.

Wed. April 24- Sacrament of Holy Unction - 5:30 PM.

Thurs. April 25 - Vesperal Divine Liturgy, Last Supper -3PM.

Service of the Twelve Gospels, Matins for Great Friday - 5:30 PM.

Fri. April 26 - Royal Hours - 9:30 AM.

Vespers  with veneration of the Epitaphion - 3 PM.

Matins for Great Saturday and Funeral Procession- 5:30 PM.

Sat. April 27 - Vesperal Liturgy - 9:30 AM.

Midnight Office - 11:30 PM.

 

PASCHA  -  CHRIST IS RISEN!

Sunday April 28 - Paschal Matins and Divine Liturgy - Midnight 12 AM.

Paschal Vespers followed by celebratory Feast - 4 PM.           

New 2019 Journey to Pascha chart available here.

Journey-to-Pascha-2019-small.jpg

Regular Services:

Sunday:

  Matins at 8:30 AM

  Divine Liturgy at 9:30 AM

783 Franklin Park Drive
East Syracuse, NY 13057
315-434-9540